Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball with practice swing at Masters

Florence Fletcher
April 15, 2019

On Friday, Zach Johnson provided what may be the greatest "pros, they're just like us!" moment in recent memory, and it came at one of the sport's most recognizable stages: the 13th hole at Augusta National.

Johnson clipped his ball on one of the swings.

After 13 holes of play, Johnson now sits at one-under for the day and one-over for the tournament.

"Okay, there's a first for everything there boys", Johnson said, relieved. Under USGA rules, Johnson was allowed to re-tee without penalty because it was not intentional.

Despite his pride being hurt, Johnson did not incur a penalty and he ended up making a birdie. "I actually hit a really good tee shot after that, so I think I recovered nicely".

Real Madrid want EPL star over Man Utd ace Pogba
Will Rice leave West Ham in the summer? " West Ham , I'm sure, know about it or know about the fact [there's interest]". Real Madrid want Premier League over Manchester United ace Paul Pogba , according to report in the Spanish media.

NHL Playoff Betting Odds, Picks & Predictions Day 3: 4/13/19 - Against The Spread
Louis Blues' hopes of a playoff berth seemed like a long shot until rookie netminder Jordan Binnington took over the reins in net. They got loud again in the minutes before the teams emerged from their dressing rooms for the start of the game .

Disney Plus Release Date, Price, & Day One Content Officially Revealed
Star Wars fans will be excited to know that all of the Star Wars movie will roll out on Disney + within the first year of launch. All Pixar films will be available within the first year of launch and all Pixar theatrical shorts will be available from Day 1.

The 2007 Masters champ let out an "oh, s-t" after contact and turned to playing partners, Matt Kuchar and Ian Poulter, to find out what the protocol was. However, because the rules state a ball is not in play until after the tee shot, Johnson was able to re-tee it and hit away.

"He doesn't let me forget many things", Johnson said, "But, hey, you get what you deserve". "I thought I'd done it all, but now I know I have".

Johnson carded a two-over, 74, putting him in serious danger of missing the cut.

Johnson, whose round of 73 left him 3 over for the tournament, said he knew there wasn't a penalty involved because "it all comes down to intent".

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER