Delhi Daredevils set to get a new name today

Florence Fletcher
December 6, 2018

Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Delhi Daredevils were on Tuesday renamed as Delhi Capitals and the announcement was made in a function in the capital by owners GMR Group and JSW Sports. Delhi Capitals', formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, skipper Shreyas Iyer had a message to greet the fans initially.

The GMR group, a property development company, successfully bid for the Delhi-based team for a sum of Dollars 84 million in January 2008. However, there is already a team called "Delhi Capitals" that plays in the UBA (basketball). "We wanted this name to mean something to each and everyone from Delhi", said JSW Sports' Director Parth Jindal during the update. The new logo, with three tigers on its emblem, has also been unveiled during the event. They have also changed the tagline of the side which now reads, "This is New Delhi". Iyer had taken over the role from an out-of-form Gautam Gambhir mid-way during the last season.

Trump says will formally terminate NAFTA soon
Congress, on the other hand, is not rolling, and I think President Trump's intent here was to light a fire under Congress". Nevertheless, Canada isn't assuming ratification will be easy.

USA wants 'concrete' trade action from China within 90 days
Trump has famously boasted that trade wars are 'easy to win, ' but he is now 0-for-2 on that count", they wrote. Since a great deal of social media simply cannot look away from these tweets , you can guess what happened next.

King Kohli eyes crowning glory in Australia
And I think it's important that we get those long partnerships together, in Australia that will really help us a lot". "We definitely want to win the series, but one test match at a time".

Mohammed Kaif was earlier named as the team's assistant coach while Ricky Ponting continues to be the head coach of the team. They have released them into the auction pool alongside Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Shami and Jason Roy as well. However, thrilled to have Dhawan back in the scheme of things, cricket fans have started rooting for "Gabbar" as the new captain for Delhi in place of young Shreyas Iyer.

Delhi are yet to win their maiden IPL title despite participating in all 11 editions. It finishing at the bottom of the table in IPL 2018.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article