Bypolls: SP Wins Gorakhpur and Phulpur, RJD Reclaims Araria

Erika Holt
March 15, 2018

The SP, supported by the BSP, is set to win both the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Congress' Phulpur candidate Manish Mishra and Gorakhpur candidate Dr Sureetha could not save their deposits after the results of the by-polls were declared.

Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel won in Phulpur while the SP's Pravin Kumar Nishad was leading in Gorakhpur.

Byelections in Uttar Pradesh, necessitated after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their seats in Gorakhpur and Phulpur constituency, respectively, on taking office, are being seen as a prestige battle for the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

USA threatens retaliation against chemical weapons attacks in Syria
The Central Military Media says the army on Tuesday entered the district and took control of points previously held by the gunmen. However, the group Jaysh al-Islam vowed not to leave the area and to continue fighting advancing Syrian government forces .

Australia considering fast-track visa program for white South African farmers
Mabaya said the South African government was clear that the matter was before Parliament for it to engage on it. Mr Dutton said the farmers could make a contribution to Australian life.

Douglas Lane & Associates LLC Decreases Holdings in Comcast Co. (CMCSA)
Comcast Corporation (NASDAQ: CMCSA ) and Texas Southern University (TSU) announced plans to offer Xfinity On Campus to students. Commerzbank Aktiengesellschaft Fi holds 0.44% of its portfolio in Comcast Corporation (NASDAQ: CMCSA ) for 859,845 shares.

Gorakhpur and Phulpur were the most hard to be won from BJP that got 71 of UP's 80 Lok Sabha seats in 2014.

In Bihar, after the 22nd round of counting, RJD is leading by 57,791 with 4,46,179 votes, while BJP is trailing with 3,88,388 votes for Araria constituency. The SP candidate from Phulpur was ahead of BJP candidate Kaushalendra Patel. The Samajwadi Party won from five seats. The victory of the alliance has sent alarm bells ringing in the BJP headquarters, and Amit Shah and other top leaders including Narendra #Modi are meeting to take stock of the situation. "In four years, the BJP is down to 271, losing the simple majority in the Lok Sabha minus its allies - considering the fact that Modi has suspended party MP Kirti Azad and virtually disowned their most truthful and fiercely independent Patna Sahib MP (Shatrughan Sinha)", Surjewala claimed. "We still have a year to go for the Lok Sabha polls".

People have taught a lesson to the BJP, said former Uttar Pradesh chief minister and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav while addressing the media in Lucknow.

The SP had pocketed 22.2 per cent votes and won five seats, while the BSP failed to open its account despite polling 19.6 per cent votes. But the BJP leader's old fear has now come true. It is also clear that the people will vote for the non BJP candidates who have the highest chances of winning in the election'. "They will give their answer in the election booth in the 2019 LS polls", he said. If the BJP draws the right lessons from the series of defeats and embarks on a course correction, it can still trump the combined Opposition in 2019. He issued this statement after journalists rushed to get his reaction to BJP's defeat in by-polls in Phulpur and Gorakhpur.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article